Astrology 101


Astrology Lesson 101

An Astrology chart is a map of one’s life. It describes the big picture or overall themes you have to endure or walk through in this lifetime.

Your Natal Chart is divided into 12 different areas that represents a unique and different theme. These areas can include, love, marriage, career our spiritual growth, home, family, health and more. Your Astrological Natal Chart is yours and yours alone. The only way someone can have the same exact chart is if they are born on the same day, at the exact same time and location. But even if that were case, it’s also how you would each choose to use the energy of the planets and their placement, this makes you special and uniquely different from everyone else. And shows the Power of Fee Will.

10 Planets

*Sun – The position of the Sun by house (that is, the house that the Sun occupies in the birth chart) reveals an area of life where we need to feel special. It is where we feel the need to distinguish ourselves from others.

*Moon – The Moon in the houses can reveal where and how we go about seeking emotional satisfaction. Important clues to the reason for perpetual emotional unrest can be found through the study of the house position of the Moon, and these take the form of constant changes or ups and downs in the areas of life ruled by the house. It is in these areas that we should aim to make deep attachments rather than superficial and temporary emotional thrills if we are seeking out a true feeling of belonging and emotional fulfillment.

*Mercury – Mercury is the messenger in Astrology as it is in Mythology. It is the planet of day-to-day expression and communication. Mercury’s action is to take things apart and put them back together again. It is an opportunistic planet, decidedly unemotional and curious. This placement shows us how we tend to verbalize ourselves.

*Venus – Venus represents two main areas of our life: love and money. “Love and money” is actually a simplistic interpretation of Venus. Venus rules our sentiments, what we value, and the pleasure we take in life. Grace, charm, and beauty are all ruled by Venus. Through Venus, we learn about our tastes, pleasures, artistic inclinations, and what makes us happy.

*Mars – is the planet of energy, action, and desire. It is the survival instinct, and can be thought of as the “leftover” animal nature of man. Mars rules our animal instincts for aggression, anger, and survival. Our sexual desires come under the rule of Mars. Whereas Venus rules romantic attraction, Mars is most associated with basic body attraction. This is the planet of action rather than reaction. With Mars, there is no contemplation before action.

*Jupiter – In Astrology, Jupiter is a planet of plenty. It is tolerant and expansive. The first of the social planets, Jupiter seeks insight through knowledge. Some of this planet’s keywords include morality, gratitude, hope, honor, and the law. Jupiter is a planet of broader purpose, reach, and possibility.

*Saturn – Saturn is associated with restriction and limitation. Where Jupiter expands, Saturn constricts. Although the themes of Saturn seem depressing, Saturn brings structure and meaning to our world. Saturn knows the limits of time and matter. Saturn reminds us of our boundaries, our responsibilities, and our commitments. It brings definition to our lives. Saturn makes us aware of the need for self-control and of boundaries and our limits.

*Uranus – In Astrology, the energies of Uranus are electric and crammed with change. Uranus is forward-looking. It balks at tradition, and celebrates originality and individuality. Uranus is associated with technology, innovation, discovery, and all that is progressive. On the up side, Uranus is associated with enlightenment, progressiveness, objectivity, novelty, and ingenuity. Negative expression of Uranus is rebelliousness without a cause and irresponsibility.

*Neptune – In astrology, Neptune is considered a planet of inspiration, dreams, psychic receptivity, illusion, and confusion. Neptune rules spirituality, and all things subtle. A youthful, and sometimes naive, spirit characterizes those with a strong placement of Neptune in their natal charts.

*Pluto – In Astrology, the energies of Pluto are transforming. Pluto represents subconscious forces, ruling all that is “below the surface”. On the up side, Pluto is associated with renewal and rebirth. It represents endings and new beginnings, as well as spiritual growth and rebirth. Negative expression of Pluto is an obsessive desire for power and control and general destructiveness.

**Ascendant (Rising) – The Ascendant defines, in part, the first impression we make on others in a personal rather than professional sense. It represents our physical appearance, our physical bodies and overall health, and the body ego. The Ascendant is often referred to as the mask we wear, although I don’t consider it to be as superficial as this might suggest. What it does represent is our natural and personal defense mechanisms that we use to adapt to, and cope with, our environment.

Every planet plays a role and has a purpose to it. When they work in harmony together your life can be calm and content, but when they are at odds, life gets more challenging and sometimes very difficult. That’s why so many people get Astrology readings every year, to learn where the plants are going to be in their own Natal Chart. But this article is to help you learn what each planets role is.

If you’d like a more individual and personalized explanation you can order a “One Question Reading/Planets” (by email only) and ask for your Natal Planets, and I will send all the information above regarding the planets and how they affect you personally. I also will throw in your Rising Sign or Ascendant as it’s called because that too affects a part of who you are. Please message me first about Pricing, as this special is not just a One Question Reading price.


Reblogged this on Lost Dudeist Astrology.


fabulous explanation… and I love that picture… 🙂


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: